Skip to Main Content

We can only begin to acknowledge the many people who have assisted and supported us as we have moved this concept from a conversation over coffee to the third edition of a textbook.

Elon University, our professional home during the development of this work, has been a source of support throughout our journey. Access to state-of-the-art facilities and educational resources has been invaluable.

Our professional colleagues have provided expertise, encouragement, and feedback. We are particularly grateful for the collaboration with Dorriea Murphy, Nita Skillman, Jennifer Morton, Sharon Kemps, Michele Vaughn, Ashton Hardison, Stephanie Ray, Shani Lewis, and Mark Weaver.

As in all our endeavors, our community partners have been vital to our success. Colleagues at Cone Health-Alamance Regional Medical Center have shared equipment and provided valuable insights into current practices. Our friends at Alamance Community College, Clover’s Mastectomy and Medical Supply, and Advanced Seating and Mobility made specialized equipment available to us during our photography sessions. The visual images for this manuscript would not have been possible without the expert services of Center City Film & Video, Jason Torres Photography, and Rachael Fern Photography.

We were fortunate to have many willing volunteers who brought the patient care concepts to life in the filming and photography sessions: Pablo Almodovar, Jerry Amash, Amber Anderson, Jamie Anderson, Bill Andrews, Andrea Attorri, Adam Autry, Ti’era Basehart, Nathan Bilodeau, Susan Bilodeau, Tyrone Bishop, Corey Bodey, Deborah Bryan, Alex Christiansen, Marsha Edmonds, Sandra Fields, Sara Fleming, Sabrina Fogleman, Jane Freund, Jeremy Gates, Barbara Guy, Stewart Holt, Chioma Ichoku, Don Johansson, Lux Johansson, Patricia Johansson, Carolyn Johnson, Mike Johnson, Megan Kirkpatrick, Jean-Pierre Koenig, Daryl Lawson, Sinclair Lennon, Cynthia Lewis, Shani Lewis, Parker Montgomery, Micah Muñoz, Tiffany Needham, Zachary Ormond, Emily Parker, Debbie Perry, Emory Ramsey, Dustin Resh, Chris Ridenour, Lauren Rowell, Scott Rytter, Nita Skillman, Pamela J. Smith, Walker S. Smith, JC Swanner, Bob Truitt, Elizabeth Van Fleet, George Wentz, Nan Yang, Shin-Yiing Yeung, and Yuan Zhaung.

Margaret Biblis, Jennifer Pine, Elizabeth Stepchin, and the rest of the staff of F. A. Davis have been beyond wonderful. This book would not have been possible without their belief in us, their outstanding skills at every stage, and their continued encouragement. We are especially grateful to Laura Horowitz for her talent, vision, and patience throughout the editing process.

We are deeply indebted to our students, past and present, who have challenged and inspired us along the way, and to our patients, who are our ultimate teachers.

Finally, we thank our families and friends, whose patience, encouragement, and love have made this journey possible.

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.